Applying Policies to Endpoint Groups

All endpoints are first assigned to your default policy. If you want to change the policy assignment, you must first define a new policy then follow the instructions below to apply that policy to a group. For more information, see Implementing Policies.

This topic contains the following procedures:

Applying Policies to a Group of Endpoints

From the Group Management tab, you can apply a policy to multiple endpoints.

To apply a policy to a group of endpoints:

  1. Click the Group Management tab.
  2. From the Groups panel on the left, select a group that includes the endpoints you want.

  3. From the Endpoints panel on the right, select one or more endpoints.

    Note: You can select all endpoints within the selected group by clicking the Hostname checkbox at the top of the list.

  1. From the Command bar, click the Apply policy to endpoints button.

    Note: If the group has more than one page of endpoints, the dialog prompts you to apply the policy either to the endpoints on the current page or to all pages of endpoints.

    The Apply Policy window displays.

  2. From the Policy drop-down menu, select the new policy for the group, and click the Apply button.

  3. Check the Policy column to make sure the new policy is applied to the selected endpoints.

    Applying Policies to a Single Endpoint

    To apply a policy to only one endpoint, the quickest method is to double-click in the Policy column and change it there.

    To apply a policy to an individual endpoint:

    1. Click the Group Management tab.
    2. From the Groups panel on the left, select a group that includes the endpoint.
    3. From the Endpoints panel on the right, select the endpoint.

    4. In the Policy column of the selected endpoint, double-click the policy name to display a drop-down of available policies.

    5. Select the policy and press the Enter key.

      The new policy name displays in the upper left corner, in the column with a red flag. This indicates that your changes are in a draft stage and you can still select Undo Changes to revert back to the previous settings. If needed, you can continue making other changes in this panel until you are ready to save the changes.

    6. To apply the change, click the Save Changes button.

      The system removes the red flag from the row.