Adding Groups

When you first deploy to endpoints, the system assigns them to the Default group. If needed, you can add more groups for different management purposes and re-assign endpoints to those new groups.

To add a group:

  1. Log in to the management console.

    The management console displays, with the Sites tab active.

  2. Click the Groups tab.

    The Groups tab displays.

  3. In the left column, select a site to which you want to add groups.

    The Plus (+) button becomes active.

  4. Click the Plus (+) button.

    The Create Group window displays.

  5. In the Name field, enter a name for the group.
  6. In the Description field, enter a brief description for the group.
  7. From the Endpoint Policy drop-down menu, select one of the following policies:
    • No Policy
    • Recommended Defaults
    • Recommended Server Defaults
    • Silent Audit
    • Unmanaged

  8. Click the Create button.

    The new group displays in the Groups panel on the left.

  9. To move endpoints into this group, click the group where the endpoints you want to move currently reside.

  10. Select one or more endpoints from the Devices panel on the right.

    To select all endpoints, select the checkbox at the top of the column.

  11. Click the Move button.

    The Move Group window displays.

  12. From the Move to the following group drop-down menu, select the new group you want to move the endpoint to.
  13. Select one of the following Policy management radio buttons:
    • Automatically inherit the new group policy
    • Move with the current policy unchanged
  14. Click the Move button.

    The group has been moved to the new group.